Mercurial Events

Last September 2012, I had a really silly idea of post-dating an e-card to myself. At that time, I was really disappointed at the lack of development opportunities for my love life. The message in the card stated “The time has come. If nobody had cared enough to break those walls down, they should now be twisted to serve a purpose they were not meant for–keeping others out!”

And so, I am now convincing myself that romance is not worth it anymore. I’m still trying to figure out how to plan things out so that I can still have an awesome life despite being eternally locked in an NBSB situation. This is self-fulfilling prophecy. I’m tired of hoping and waiting. So, I’m giving up. I know how to pick my battles, and I have a strong feeling I’m not going to do well in this one.

I celebrated my birthday three days ago, and I know my seemingly stupid promise will be fulfilled. Aside from inviting my sister to a pizza parlor for a dinner, the day was rather uneventful. I want to blame somebody for my pathetic situation, but I know it won’t really help much.

***

If my birthday was somewhat boring, today I was rather tense. A 7.2 magnitude earthquake managed to hit Cebu and Bohol. I was immediately worried.

I learned later that the epicenter was in the town next to my hometown. My paranoia got the better of me, and I am currently spending the rest of the day entertaining one worrying thought after another.

My sister was informed by my father that they are okay. I am still concerned what happened to our house. After seeing what happened to some of the old churches in Bohol, I began to worry if our house is still intact. We are having problems contacting my family at the moment. I’m desperate to get some relevant updates from them. Maybe I should try calling them tomorrow. For now, all I can do is wait a little more.

Leave a comment